Setting the Tone with a Great Cover

February 7, 2012 jffiv

I want to thank the lovey, talented and fabulously named Jenna Anderson for stopping by Princess With A Pen to share her thoughts on book covers.

Jenna Anderson

Jenna was so kind to let me rule her internet kingdom yesterday, and it is sincerely my honor to crown her “Princess Jenna” today.  I love connecting, collaborating, and laughing with other authors.  Jenna and I definitely bond over many things, including the fact we both speak “teenager.”  We are not fluent, but we have each other to lean on.   So without further introduction, here she is!

Thanks so much for having me on your blog. It’s always great to hang out with other authors and their friends.

I have to say, I love the cover of your book. Love, love. It’s amazingly eye catching and perfect. I feel this is so important when trying to communicate a vibe to readers.

I tortured the cover artist who worked on Off Leash. He is a great talent and drew the images himself. I wanted to add all sorts of bells and whistles and he reminded me that simple is sometimes best. The result went beyond my expectations. Within a few seconds the reader can catch the tone of the story and I love that.

Off Leash

He also created the cover for Healing Touch, my first release. Talk about simple! I wouldn’t change a thing. It’s perfect.

Healing Touch

All of my fiction is sweet, fun, and light. I try my best to convey those feelings with my cover art. In the near future I will be venturing into young adult titles as well as paranormal. No matter what I write, expect laughs and an, “Awwwww” ending.

Thanks again for having me. I look forward to seeing more of your work and covers in the future, Jen. If readers want to find me on the web they can read about my titles here – http://www.jennascribbles.com/my-titles/

I also have a book blog called The Book Snoop: http://www.TheBookSnoop.com.

And if you really want more of me you can check out Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/JAScribbles

Jenna Anderson

Jenna, thank you so much!  Come back anytime and visit.

XOXO

Jen

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cindy r  |  February 7, 2012 at 11:07 am

    Hi Jens! The cover is so important, as is everything. But I’m trying to finalize my cover and it’s VERY tough. It’s the first thing people see. I’ve purchased books for their covers and later regretted it. This was a great post topic.
    xo Cindy R

  • 2. Pj Schott  |  February 7, 2012 at 1:12 pm

    The artwork really does set the tone. And I love the idea of a writer supporting an artist.

  • 3. Jenna Anderson  |  February 7, 2012 at 6:37 pm

    Cindy – getting a cover right is so tough. We all have that perfect vision in our heads and when an artist shows us what they think… hmm, it may not be exactly right. If you can, work at it until you think it’s perfect. You will be able to gush over it forever.

    I was lucky with my cover artist. He emailed me the ‘rough mockup’ and it took my breath away. I was a silly squeeeeeing girl.

    PJ – good point. I definitely want to help indie artists. Actually, all artists. 🙂

    Jenna


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Recent Posts

 
